2011 Women of Achievement Winners Announced

by Mark Bullion on March 1, 2011 at 7:07 am

The Muskingum Family Y has announced the 2011 Women of Achievement winners.

With over 30 nominations for eight different categories like public service, education, and healthcare as just a few, Executive Director of the Muskingum Family Y Craig Miracle says they had a great turnout for this year, but says it was no easy task narrowing down the winners.

"Really challenging for the selection committee. There’s a lot of quality ladies out there that were nominated and the ones that were selected this year just kind of rose to the top so to speak and really made an impact not only in this community but the organizations they are involved with," said Miracle.

Ohio University Zanesville Interim Director of Continuing Education Chris Shaw received the Mary Townsend Professions award. She has been an active member of the Zanesville community for over 26 years.

"Awe inspired. When I consider all of the other people who the award is named for and all of those who have received the award over the years, It truly does make you speechless," said Shaw.

The recipients of the various awards will all be honored at a dinner on Wednesday, April 20th at 6 p-m at Ohio University Zanesville and Zane State’s Campus Center. For information and how you can attend the dinner, call the Muskingum Family Y at 740–588-2564 or visit their web site at www.mcmfy.org.

2011 Women of Achievement recipients:

Ethel Granger Schultz Young Adult Award- Heather Sands
Mary Vashti Jones Funk Business Award- Patty Boyd
Winifred K. Voyt Education Award- Peg Earhart
Josephine Phillips Health Care Award- Corey Hamilton
Mary Townsend Professions Award- Chris Shaw and Karen Vincent
Aldine Roach Flegal Special Recognition Award- Connie Norman and Yvonne Factor
Muskingum Family Y Lifetime Service Award- Linda Morrow
Muskingum County Community Foundation Bright Futures Award-TBA on March 20, 2011