West Boys/Girls Shine in All-Star Basketball

by JT Raymond on March 30, 2012 at 11:53 am

District 12 All-Star Classic hosted by Buckeye Trail H.S.

Boys Basketball

East 93 West 98

In the boys game, an early West lead was surrendered late in the second half, but with the help of game MVP Christian Myers, the team bounced back for a five point victory.  The West squad had two District 12 players of the year in Kade Haddox from Zanesville (Division I) and Zac Kirkbride from Rosecrans (Division IV).  Kirkbride won the dunk contest, impressing the crowd with a windmill dunk and a throwdown over one of our cameraman.

The West also had two coaches named coach of the year in District 12 in Scott Aronhalt from Zanesville (Division I) and Greg Woodard from John Glenn (Division II).  Rosecrans coach Ed Johnston was also named District 12 assistant coach of the year.  There were also two former athletes and one former coach named to the District 12 Hall of Fame.  Seth Martin (Zanesville H.S. 1997), Todd McLoughlin (West Muskingum (1991), and Dave Bell (Former Rosecrans/Zanesville Basketball Coach) all took their rightful place in the Hall of Fame. 

Girls Basketball

East 66 West 85

The West took control early, jumping out to a 25-7 lead and never looking back.  Three of the four district 12 players of the year were on the West side in Kailee Howe from Zanesville (Division I), Karen Sidwell from Maysville (Division II), and Amy Graham from West Muskingum (Division III).  They all made contributions, but it was Amariah Huck who stole the show, winning the game MVP award.  Sidwell was also the three point contest winner.

The West also had three of the four district 12 coaches of the year in Jeff Moore from Zanesville (Division I), Marty Bice from Tri-Valley (Division II), and Joey Mobley from West Muskingum (Division III).  Sheridan graduate and current Rosecrans coach Amanda Kroft was named the District 12 assistant coach of the year as well.