Nichole Hannahs

Educators Honored by MVESC

by Nichole Hannahs on August 13, 2012 at 6:32 am

The Muskingum Valley Educational Service Center honored several educators in the area.

The organization awarded 15 teachers trophies along with $400 for serving as a role model to students, representing their school district in a positive way and for their commitment to teaching. The teachers honored and administration all spoke of the importance of working as a team and having a passion for what they do.

"The newspapers and the political pundits are just full of sermons and speeches and quick comments about public education when the reality is there is a lot of good being done in the classroom with boys and girls on a daily basis," said MVESC Superintendent Dr Richard Murray.

One educator said though she’s receiving the award it’s more of a team effort.

"I think it’s an award for everyone in our building," said Casey Jones of Northern Local School District. "We all work together really really hard. My team is wonderful and I think we have the best team and the best building. I love everyone."

As educators get ready for a new year there’s a lot to look forward to. Donna Smith teaches at Warsaw Elementary.

"Younger students are always willing to try anything new. They are very appreciative of everything you do for them," said Smith. "We have the opportunity to see them finish their elementary education during their career. You spend a lot of time beyond their year in second grade."

While those receiving awards Monday were nominated by administration, in March the MVESC will allow students to pick their own educators of the year.

Below is a list of the Muskingum Valley Exemplary Educators

Coshocton County:

Deborah Corder-Coshocton City

Donna Smith-River View Local

Shandy Mizer-Ridgewood Local

Steve Ervin-Coshocton County Career Center

Perry County:

Casey Jones-Northern Local

Kim Lutz-New Lexington City Schools

Scott Houk-Crooksville Exempted Village

Morgan County:

Amanda Pierce-Morgan Local

Muskingum County:

Amanda Blevins-Tri-Valley Local

Ann Thorne-Franklin Local

Christy Wilson-Zanesville City

George Bell-Mid-East Career and Technology Centers

Jada Hunter- West Muskingum Local

Matthew Henderson-Maysville Local

Robin Kuhns-East Muskingum Local