Phoenix Award Recipients

by Mackenzie Stasko on May 7, 2013 at 7:06 am

Seven area high school seniors were awarded the Phoenix Award at Tuesday’s Rotary meeting. The Phoenix Award is given to students who have overcome and thrived during personal obstacles.

"These are students who have determination who have perseverance, who have had some kind of fortitude where they pull themselves up by their bootstraps in spite of incredibly horrible events in their lives," said Marion Gilliand of the Rotary Club of Zanesville.

One of the recipients is Mary Weidig, a Tri-Valley senior who struggled with her grades after the loss of her mom during her freshman year.

"It’s such an honor to be nominated for all of my outstanding work and overcoming such a big obstacle in my life and being recognized for it through this, it’s incredible," said Weidig.

Kaleb Roush, Cheyann Underwood, Ashley Haythorn, Tyler Miller, Ryan Chernick and Matthew Thompson-Harris also received the Phoenix Award.