Boyd, Agudelo added to US roster for New Zealand as 9 depart

by Associated Press on October 8, 2016 at 7:00 pm

CHICAGO (AP) — Five of the starters from the United States’ 2-0 win at Cuba have been released to return to their clubs and will miss Tuesday’s exhibition against New Zealand in Washington, D.C.

Defenders John Brooks, Geoff Cameron and Fabian Johnson were let go along with midfielder Christian Pulisic and forward Bobby Wood, the U.S. Soccer Federation said Saturday. They were among nine players to leave the team, a group that also included goalkeeper Ethan Horvath, defender Timmy Chandler and forwards Jordan Morris and Chris Wondolowski.

Seven players were added, leaving the U.S. with a 20-man roster: goalkeeper Bill Hamid; defenders Kellyn Acosta, Matt Besler, Michael Orozco and Tim Parker; and forwards Juan Agudelo and Terrence Boyd.

Boyd has not been with the national team since he was on the 30-man preliminary roster for the 2014 World Cup. The 25-year-old tore his right anterior cruciate ligament in December 2014.

Agudelo has not been with the national team since June 2015.

Defender Steve Birnbaum remained with the team after needing eight stiches to close a facial cut caused by a kick by Duxney Espinosa.

The match against New Zealand is the last for the U.S. before it opens the final round of regional qualifying for the 2018 World Cup against Mexico on Nov. 11 at Columbus, Ohio.

The revised roster:

Goalkeepers: David Bingham (San Jose), Bill Hamid (D.C.), William Yarbrough (Leon, Mexico)

Defenders: Kellyn Acosta (Dallas), Matt Besler (Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C.), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca, Mexico), Michael Orozco (Tijuana, Mexico), Tim Parker (Vancouver), DeAndre Yedlin (Newcastle, England)

Midfielders: Paul Arriola (Tijuana, Mexico), Michael Bradley (Toronto), Lynden Gooch (Sunderland, England), Perry Kitchen (Heart of Midlothian, Scotland), Sacha Kljestan (New York), Danny Williams (Reading, England)

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New England), Jozy Altidore (Toronto), Terrence Boyd (Leipzig, Germany), Julian Green (Bayern Munich, Germany)