MLK Scholarship Breakfast Held


ZANESVILLE, Ohio-The 2021 annual Martin Luther King scholarship Breakfast was held virtually this morning. 

The breakfast featured musical performances and speeches from community leaders and politicians such as congressman Troy Balderson and governor Mike Dewine. Board chairwoman Kathy Brantley kicked off the breakfast with praise for those raising the students. 

“The Martin Luther King Scholarship Fund Committee is proud to present to you the 27th annual Martin Luther King prayer breakfast. Congratulations to all the teachers, counselors, and family members for doing an excellent job. It takes a village to raise a child, and the Martin Luther King scholarship fund is part of your village.”, Brantley said in a recording.

 26 local students received the scholarships based on their academic performance and community involvement. U.S. Congressman  Troy Balderson spoke to the memory of Martin Luther King and how each of us can learn from the civil rights leader. 

“While we can’t be together this year as we normally are, it’s great that we can gather in a virtual setting for a great cause. Dr. Martin Luther King set an example we all should strive to learn from. He once said, ‘Life’s most persistent and urgent question is: what are you doing to help others?’. This is a question I live by because a service to others is one of the most important things we can do in our lifetimes here on Earth.”, Balderson told the recipients from a remote call.

Recipients were as follows:

DaShawn Adams John Glenn High School
Kemery Aichele Maysville High School
Chiara Black Zanesville High School
Hannah Clifford John Glenn High School
Meya Derwacter-Nutter Zanesville High School
Noah Fultz Zanesville High School
Abigail Hivnor John Glenn High School
Baylee Johnson Tri-Valley High School
Kobe King Zanesville High School
Caroline Lee John Glenn High School
Allyanna Mayle Zanesville High School
Lydia Mayle Philo High School
Anne Miller Tri-Valley High School
Alexis Morrison Zanesville High School
Ari Norris Maysville High School
Kiersten Norris Zanesville High School
Isaac Payton Zanesville High School
Gino Repuyan Tri-Valley High School
Julia Torres Zanesville High School
Mateya Townsend John Glenn High School
Derek Wallace Zanesville High School
Categories: Local News