Newly Elected and Re-Elected City Officials Sworn In


ZANESVILLE, Ohio – As the New Year begins, newly elected and
re-elected officials will take office throughout Muskingum County.
Zanesville City Council Members were officially sworn in at tonight’s
meeting. Council Members were sworn in simultaneously and included
At-large Incumbents Joey Pennybaker Osborn, Ann M. Gildow, and Rob
Sharrer. Meanwhile, the First Female African American Council Member
to serve in Zanesville is retiring. Daniel Vincent, President of
Council, says Connie Norman has over three decades of service to the

“This evening, we
were honored to swear in new council that will start in 2020. With
that, we’re excited to welcome a new Third Ward Councilperson, Todd
Ware—who is replacing Connie Norman after 30 years and 4 months of
service. And, we have a special proclamation for her tonight. Its got
a lot of information about her as far as her service to the community
but she has done quite well.”

In addition to
Council, the City Law Director, Treasurer, and the new City Auditor
were sworn in as the Mayor Elect looked on; following his own
swearing in last week.

“So, quite a neat
night as far as honoring these people—Connie for her service—and
honoring those who are just newly elected or re-elected. And, it’s
just wonderful to have a great council back; I look forward to the
next two years as far as serving with them. We have a new
administration—Don Mason is here this evening, our new Mayor—Mayor
Elect. With that, we have a new City Auditor—Andrew Body.”

Newly elected
representatives will officially take office on January 1, 2020.

Categories: Local News, Stories